What we leave behind

I sit here this morning sipping my first cup of Joe… a bit melancholy about my fathers passing, thinking about my own mortality, realizing that our generation are now the elders of our particular branch of the tree.  Both sets of grand parents and both parents are gone.  I sit here and wonder what I will be remembered for and how I have touched others lives.
The thing that got me started on this subject is a post on my facebook page from my wife’s niece.

I really like your blog. I just finished reading it in its entirety–great insights and reflections. I always knew your strength and your words only reaffirmed it. I look forward to more posts and hope to start one soon myself. I miss you guys a ton

 

Thank you by the way, I really appreciate the encouragement. It got me to thinking how I affect the younger people in my life.  I have two nephews and a niece through my brother Randy, I hate to say this but I don’t really know them that well.  I read their facebook posts (Bryan… really??), but other than that I don’t really converse with them, I don’t really know them.  I need to find a way to change that.
I would like to think though that I affect young people’s lives by living a good example.  I work hard, I am studious, I have taken a hard road not the path of least resistance.  As with my work I try to lead by example.  Who, though is really looking at my example?  Do they take the time out of their ever increasingly busy day to really look and understand?  Are we just ships passing in the night?  Am I wondering this because I have not taken the time to look for my impact on the world?  Have I been too busy to stop and ensure that my impact is going in the right direction?

We all want to be remembered as people that made an impact. Someone that stepped up, someone that made a difference.  I just hope that my impact will be a positive one.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

