There should be a manual

Why now

I am going to college, I am enjoying every minute… sort of.  I got behind in some of my quizzes and homework for two of my classes.  Math 1050 and Visual Tech 1300.  The math class is on-line, completely, which I like but I had to get in touch with the instructor because I fell so far behind that some of the quizzes and tests shut off.  She is probably one of the nicest professors I have, well besides my Visual Tech professor.  Both of them are wonderful… they were very understanding and have worked with me so that I can complete this semester.  On Wednesday I had to take my final for Lib 1010 (information technology), before I went I got a little stitch in my side.  You know the one where you run too long or walk too fast and it feels like a little knife in your side.
I took the test and got a 92 YES… the questions I missed, I knew I missed, right after I hit the submit button on the screen…:) wouldn’t you know it.  So on my way home riding my scooter, my side is hurting worse and worse, by the time I got home I thought that I was going to pass out.

The Problem

Now I am on of those stubborn men that unless I am bleeding from several places on my body or having some sort of life threatening episode, I don’t go to the emergency room.  I mean what if I get there and they tell me it is a gas bubble that is stuck or that I just have to take a really big **** …???  How embarrassing would that be?  So I stuck it out and said if it wasn’t any better in the morning I would go to the doctor.  After a fitful night of un-sleep, I felt slightly (not really) better and I had some very important things to take care of at work so I sucked it up and went to work.  I got the things done and decided to call the doctor (cause I really hurt) and by that time I was thinking hernia, how I got one I did not know but it really hurt that bad.  So I tell my boss my suspicion and tell him that I am going to the doctor.  He says “have you heard of diverticulitis”  Nope,  he tells me to look it up on the internet… How can I have a hernia if I have not done something strenuous??

There should be a manual

There should be manual for getting older that we are all issued when we hit 40… You know things that we can expect to get and things that we should expect to have happen… I had no idea that there was such a thing and that it was actually a common thing for men after they hit 50 or so.  I will not go into detail as to what it is, you can go here for the complete details, suffice to say that I don’t think it is a very “sexy” illness…  I really don’t want to discuss that type of illness with anyone outside my immediate family (don’t want to be “that” guy).  So off to the doctor I go and yep that is exactly what he thinks too.  Gives me an anti-biotic and says if it gets really bad to come back.  Also tells me how common it is.  If it is so darn common why haven’t I heard of it before.  Harrumph..

Now I am a little farther behind but will use this weekend to catch up… College is so much fun.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

