Who we really are:

Got me thinking

I have been following Seth Godin’s Blog since I started Blogging.  He, in my opinion, is a good blogger.  He has short posts that really make me think.  I have him linked on the right side of this blog. 
This morning though he wrote something that really hit home for me.  I am the type of person that compares themselves to others in my field.  I always wanted to be better than the other office managers.  Have that one skill that would push me over the top. I don’t know if I am overly proud of that, but it was how I felt at the time.  When the economy tanked and my employer couldn’t hold on any longer and closed the doors, I was confident that my skills would land me a new job.  Maybe not in this community but surly somewhere, someone would need a good office manager.  Come to find out – not so much.  I was out of work for 5 months when I found my current position. 

What I do now

At my darkest hour a ray of light shined on me.  I had been participating in an education program at Dixie Applied Technology College called Manufacturing U.  It gives you skills that allow you to be better leaders in, well, really any setting.  From manufacturing to office settings this training is useful.  Even with my layoff I continued to go to school.  One day they said that the administrator had decided to move one and they were looking for a new one.  I thought to myself – Hey I can do that! I talked to the teacher about how to apply and got an interview 2 days later and started the next Monday. 
Honestly though, when I first started I thought that this was going to be a temporary job till I could find something that I “really” wanted to do.  Silly, Silly me… 

How this ties together

When I got this job and found out that I really enjoy being in an education environment, a light went off.  I found the joy of being in a learning institution and helping others achieve their goals.  I gave up being better or striving to be the “best” against others.  I challenge myself to be the “best” that I can be.  Not comparing myself to others but by my own benchmark. 

So stop making yourself crazy comparing your performance against someone else.  Compare yourself to your own standard.  Keep striving to improve yourself for your own sake not to beat someone else.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

