Autism… A generation lost

How do we treat the least amongst us

I saw this article on MSN about the lost generation of autistic adults.  The statistics are shocking.  This is an upcoming problem that our society is not prepared to deal with.  We already have problems taking care of the poor and elderly.  Some around us want to cut even deeper, citing that they should be able to take care of themselves.

Hits close to home

My nephew is autistic.  He is a wonderful man of 26, and fortunately he was able to get into a group home.  I know that my brother-in-law loves him and does all he can to support him.  It has not been easy on their family. 

What would you do if you had an autistic child or relative???  Who would care for them when you are gone???

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Autism… A generation lost

  1. It causes high social anxiety in the folks who have it. Young children and adults who have typical speech in comfortable settings may possibly not say 1 word or act very shy in social settings. For instance, some youngsters will talk freely at home but once they arrive to school they clam up and don’t say 1 word. Or, like in my daughter’s case, they only whisper.

Leave a Reply

