The whole world is talking about…

What??

It seems that the whole world is talking about Osama Bin Laden being killed.  Don’t get me wrong I am glad that he is gone, and I do realize that this is a momentous occasion.  However isn’t it a little uncivilized to cheer when someone dies, regardless of how evil they were.  I am reminded of a book I read from Orson Scott Card called Speaker for the Dead in which the main character goes from world to world and stands up for a person that has just died.  Speaking the whole truth about that person, all his/her faults, but at the same time all their triumphs, trying to explain why the person did what they did.  When you know the truth about someone’s motives you can’t help but understand them a little better. 
Now don’t get me wrong.  I am in no way trying to say that I understand why he did the things he did, I am not saying in any way that I agree with the pain and suffering he caused.  I am saying that in his mind, what he did might have been justified.  The mouse biting the foot of the lion just before it is eaten. 

What now?

So what now?  Like I said before this is a momentous occasion, but what now?  We are still at war in Afghanistan, there are plenty of other terrorists to take his place… In the big scheme of things his death really doesn’t make that much difference.  I am sure that it will make a lot of people feel good, but other than that it really doesn’t change anything.  Someone else will take up the mantle of leadership and will continue the evil that is Al Ouida. There is an old saying that I would rather have the devil I know than the one that I don’t.  I wonder if there is a worse person out there that will fill the void that was Osama? I hope not.

Don’t

The worse thing that we can do is get complacent! To think that the treat is now over, to lower our guard. That is exactly what they will be wanting us to do… We must always remember that Revenge is a dish best served cold… not in the heat of anger or the heat of jubilation but in the cold of night when we least expect it.  Were I the person getting revenge I would wait until all the celebration is over, wait until they thought I was gone, wait for the enemy to let their guard down and then… BOOM.  We must be vigilant and careful.  We must maintain our guard, our resolve.  Remember it was our hubris that no one would ever attack us on American soil that led to 9/11.  This is not the time to forget that it could happen again if we allow ourselves to become complacent.  

What do you think?

Am I completely off base here?  Tell me what you think about this.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

