Education and Technology

TIE (Technology In Education)

I belong to this group on linked in and at the website itself.  There was an article this morning that was in my newsletter.  It talks about the use of technology in the class room and wonders if it is here to stay or is it just a passing fad.  I commented on that article about the need to apply the principles of Lean and Six Sigma to education. (comment follows)

What a great discussion, I have only had the opportunity to read 1/4 of the reply. I am seeing that the general agreement is that technology is a vital tool for education. I am also seeing that there is agreement that more training is needed for educators to use this new technology. As I am new to the education field, I bring a new perspective to the problem. I have been a student of Lean, six sigma for the majority of my adult life. The situation as I see it has been mentioned before. When new technology comes out we just start using it, there is no cost-benefit analysis, no design of experiment, no FEMA done, we just throw it our there and hope for the best. Heck we normally don’t even know if it is working because we took no baseline data.
My point here is that we rush into using things and methods because someone says they work, but there is little or no data that actually proves that it works. I think that should we actually apply the principles of Lean and Six Sigma to our schools we would be better off. Unfortunately to do that we would need to change the culture of our school system and the way that it is supported.

I am new to the education field, I don’t have a lot of experience navigating the political waters here at the higher ed level.  I am continually frustrated by the road blocks and imaginary impediments to improvements.  I am confronted with the “it will make the boss mad” syndrome all the time, with the boss being some politician that is in charge of the purse strings. 

Until we can move beyond the whims of the politicians controlling our education system we will never have a world-class program, we will always lag behind the rest of the world.  Until we realize that education is the way to keep our economy strong and our country on top we will continue to have a “bubble” economy.  We spend billions of dollars every year to allow us to kill other people but we spend a mere pittance on educating our young.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

