Reblogging

Once again Seth has brought up some good points that I have to share.  I know that I have been writing about education a lot but that is a subject that is very important to me.  We have been cutting education budgets for too long now and the result is that we have an entire generation that is not prepared for adult life. Let me be clear on something, I am an outsider looking in as I do not have children.  It is easy to criticize when you have not had to deal with the issue.  At the same time it gives me a unique opportunity to hold the candle of objectivity on the subject.  I am not emotionally involved in the subject.

I am both a student and an administrator of a College.  I am 53 years old and it has been a long time since I have been to school.  The biggest difference is that I learned “how to learn” when I was in high school.  The kids that I see today, many have no idea how to go about learning something on their own.  They seem to want to be hand fed the knowledge.

When I went to school, my father told me that “this was my job, that I was becoming an adult and all adults had jobs, this one was mine for now.”  I took him very seriously. We seem to want our children to remain children for too long.  We coddle them, baby them, let them be “free spirits”, then wonder why they are out of control.  We want them to have good self esteem, so do I, but not at the expense of humility and self control.  We tend forget that at one time, not so long ago, boys were considered an adult at 13, girls were “old maids” at 16 if they weren’t married and having kids by then.  Now we keep them till they are 18, sometimes 21-26, and they are still not prepared for the adult world.

Do I have any solutions?  Well here are a few, fix the educational system, focus on life skills instead of just knowledge. Get rid of standardized tests, and reward good teachers.  Get the politics out of the educational system, I wouldn’t let a politician operate on me, why are we letting them decide how to educate our children?

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Reblogging

  1. Pammy Oakley says:

    Though you pointed out at the beginning of this article that you are not a parent, which gives you the opportunity to “hold the candle of objectivity” on this subject, I must disagree. Without being a parent you don’t personally know what it is to have children especially during times as difficult as the ones we are in. It’s apparent that you understand the educational system but you don’t understand what happens outside of that system in student’s homes.

    Parents, people from our generation, are lacking the responsibilities that our parents had with us. Parents of college age students don’t help their children learn anymore. They give them the answers to everyday problems starting at an early age which is why students expect educators to do the same. That is the sole reason for students not knowing how to learn. A vast majority of them, at one point or another, tested the boundaries of their parents and educators limitation and found an open window with free answers instead of hitting a brick wall that would force them to figure it out themselves. That is the difference between a father who says education is the most important thing and one who no longer cares.

    Not everybody coddles or babies their children and for those who do there is a difference between doing it in times of need and doing it to decapitate. I coddle my children, I always have and will but I don’t do it to decapitate, I do it to help in times of need and I have two intelligent, successful children who moved out shortly after their twenty-first birthdays. Both of them had jobs, cars and rent when they left the nest and a year after one of them left home she piled on a full time education and shortly after she bought house for herself. This would have never happened if I had kicked her out of the nest when she was eighteen and prayed to God her wings worked.

    Also, having a free spirit is different than having a loose cannon, and parents who have loose cannon children are parents who don’t care, they are parents who coddle into decapitation. There’s a huge difference.

    As it is, most of us realize exactly how long ago it was that men were teenagers and sixteen year olds were acceptable mothers. We also understand that that was in a time period were people were not living beyond their forties. Today this is no longer the case and children are allowed to be children for a little bit longer. It is no longer socially acceptable to be married with children at sixteen and people frown upon it still at eighteen. This is because of how much longer people are living these days. Forty is just halfway there.

    I understand the very valid concerns of education and the lack of it. Yes the education system needs to be fixed but in order to do that our government needs repaired first. Yes, students should be taught in a more effective way and of course good teachers should be rewarded, however bad teachers need to be removed and bad parents need to punished and unfortunately there are more of those two combined then teachers and parents who actually care.

    Finally, I thoroughly believe that it is okay for a child to live at home beyond their eighteenth birthday, however parents should draw a line at what that young adult does. I’ve seen drastic ends of this spectrum from young adults who work and help their parents out to the ones that work and spend selfishly. I’ve also seen young adults who go to school and work while helping to the ones who not only go to school on their parents dime but move out on that same dime and then return to the nest after school is over to start the vegetation process all over again.

    Parents must draw the bottom line; it isn’t just the child’s responsibility and when parents don’t draw that line children become spoiled, rotten, loose cannons that are selfish in their attempt at achieving lazy unchallenged goals.

    • Lee Devine says:

      I painted a broad brush on the issue. I should have been more specific with my statements. I am sure that your children are great. However they are two out of the millions that are out there. I am sure that there is a small percentage of parents that feel the way you do. Unfortunately I see the vast majority of students today that have no concept of what learning really is. They have no problem solving skills to speak of, and don’t apply themselves to any thing of worth. Your last statement sums up what I am trying to put forth that the majority of the youth today are “spoiled, rotten, loose cannons that are selfish in their attempt at achieving lazy unchallenged goals.”
      Again there are pockets of kids like yours, but they are the exception not the rule.

      • Pammy Oakley says:

        When I read your first blog about todays kids I thought 2 things….
        1) I am so thankful my kids ended up being functional adults. You have confessed in a prior blog that you are an optomist, so spoilt loose-cannons must be a real problem in you world of education.
        2) I had some points that I wanted to make, and I also knew my daughter would have a few of her own. So I wrote my ideas down and she added hers, and whalla we had a short book for you.
        Someday I will have grandkids and I hope that people like you, will have been able to fix the school system.

      • Lee Devine says:

        You should be grateful that your kids turned out so well. It is a testiment to your diligence as a parent. I am an optomist. I believe that the world is going to get better. I believe that the spoilt, loose cannons will change for the better with my help. It is frustrating though that we have to… I beleive that most parents have abdicated their parental role. I am glad that you daughter participated in this discussion. I would encourage her to write on her own too.
        We as a society need to fix the school system, there is no quick fix, no magic bullet to take care of things. It will require hard decisions and a re-aligning of our priorities from a warrior nation to a educational nation.

  2. renxkyoko says:

    I’ve heard of the voucher system… is that a one-shot deal ? Why are these politicians doing these to the people that they are supposed to serve ? What is their end, their purpose, their aim ?

  3. renxkyoko says:

    I play the violin, and may I say, I play it well, thanks to my middle school’s music program. But, now, my school’s music class is gone…. program has been defunded. My heart goes out to students who won’t get the chance to play any instrument because of this. This is such a tragedy.

    • Lee Devine says:

      I have the same issue… My high school had a vocational agriculture program that taught us a lot about life and farming. I spent my high school years in a small farming town in eastern Oregon. Now that program is gone. I wonder at the direction our country is taking when tax cuts for the rich are more important than the education of our children

      • renxkyoko says:

        .” I wonder at the direction our country is taking when tax cuts for the rich are more important than the education of our children ”

        I’m so glad you mentioned that. The little that we get from tax cuts has such a devastating effect on our country. They’re even trying to abolish Medicare. Tax cuts= no Medicare? It doesn’t make sense. My parents are worried about this. And I’m worried, too.

      • Lee Devine says:

        Your parents have a right to worry, about themselves and you. I know that you are young now, but we all grow up. I am worried as I am 53 and would be one of the people that would be under the “new” voucher plan. I believe that this is just another way for the insurance companies to get their hands on more money. Charge higher prices and deny coverage to people like me with high blood pressure. I will have to work forever now just to maintain my insurance coverage…

Leave a Reply

