Social Responsibility

Jury Duty?

Have you ever been called for jury duty?  Did you go?  Did you try to find ways to get out of it?  Did you ask your employer to write a letter saying that you were too important to be allowed to serve as a juror?  What is social responsibility?

I have been called for jury duty, I went willingly, enthusiastically really.  I felt that I was serving the community that I had helped to build and maintain.  I didn’t get chosen but I showed up everyday and waited with the rest of my group to get called.  There weren’t any high profile cases due, there were no get on TV moments. There were minor cases that come and go every day.

Why is it that we try to shirk our civic responsibility?  Are we too busy?  What would have happened if our founding fathers had decided that they were too busy to start and maintain the revolution?  We would be part of the English empire that’s what.  There are many instances in history that would have turned the tide of humanity if the participants had decided not to honor there social responsibilities.

so here is my question to all of you out there today… Why would you not want to do things for the social good.  Jury duty, volunteer work, serving in the military, what good reason do you have not to do those things???

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

