The End of the World

A request

I received a comment on one of my posts:

Different subject all together…………..you seem to have opinions on a lot of things………….. Are u ready for the world to end …

I do have a lot of opinions about a lot of things, thank you for noticing.  This will be the first time that I have written a blog directly in response to a comment.  Congratulations Ms. Oakley, you are the first.
To answer your question directly… No I am not ready for the world to end. I don’t think you can ever be ready for something like that.

Three things

My father, may he rest in peace, told me not to talk about three things in public.  I am sure that you all can imagine what they are.  SEX, POLITICS, and RELIGION.  I have been a good little boy (at least in my mind) and tried to stay away from those subjects.  I will try to pen this post in the same manner.

THE END OF THE WORLD!!!

How do you follow that up??  If it happens, there is no one around to pat you on the back and say… Hey great job!
If it doesn’t happen, then you are left to explain why.  Now in this case it is relatively easy.  When dealing with a God Prophesy you have several outs.
One is that he/she warned us so that we would change our ways and lead a life more in tune with his/her teachings
Two is that he/she showed us mercy, after seeing the repentance of his/her true followers
Three may be that the prayers of the faithful were answered and life goes on… it’s a miracle!!!

Anyway you look at it there is always going to be a good excuse why the end of the world didn’t happen.  At least from the believers stand point.
If you look at it from the non-believers stand point then the answer is simple.  They are all a bunch of loons that got worked up because a really loony person said something that sort of made sense.
The believers look at it this way, they say – he had math on his side.  He had done the calculations after YEARS of research on the bible.  It doesn’t matter that he was wrong the first time he made this proclamation, he admitted his earlier mistake; THIS time he had it right.

The Real Question

I am wondering if the real question, you are asking is; Do I believe in God?
The simple answer is yes.  I believe that there is a power greater than us in the universe.  The more important question we need to ask ourselves is; Do we really believe in the books that men wrote to describe this God?  Do we take the word of men that lived 2000 years ago that purposely wrote in a way that if they got caught they wouldn’t be put to death? A group of people who at the time would be considered a cult by the standards of today. Do we take every word that they wrote literally? Do we only believe the New Testament or do we follow both the New and Old Testament? What about the Koran?
You can see that I have some serious questions when it comes to organized religion, and that is just with Christianity.
Over the years of my life, I have been an altar boy at the Episcopalian church, and elder in the Mormon church, a follower of the way, and several other labels that people put on religion.  I am what you would call a theological adventurer.  A person that seeks God in all his/her splendor.  Taking off the shackles of a dogma of certain faiths. Able to question what doesn’t seem right.  I mean after all isn’t that what free will is all about, questioning what doesn’t seem right?

Who’s Wrong

See the problem that I see with religion today is that for someone to be right, the rest of the world needs to be wrong.  If I say that God lives in heaven, then anyone that says otherwise is CRAZY, just CRAZY.  You see MY book says this, and if your book doesn’t say the same thing then you are WRONG…

My stance is that everyone is right, we all have a piece of the puzzle that is God.  We all know a portion of the truth, a hint of the reality.  We strive for enlightenment, to know God, only to fall short of the truth that is God.  To know God is to be perfect which is, to most, impossible.  I am not perfect, far from it, but I strive for that enlightenment, I strive to know the truth, to know God.  I try to live my life in a way that I think he/she would want me to live.

Summing it up

I have written a lot of words, and I have tried to state my view of the world in a very short space… I would like to leave you with this little bit of opinion

If there is a God and he/she gave us free will to determine our own destiny. Why would that god destroy us for carrying out the very free will that he/she gave us.  To carry that one step further, maybe just maybe, god is standing back and seeing what we do with this thing called free will.  Not helping, and not hindering, but just watching… the greatest experiment in all of creation.

Ms. Oakley, I hope that this has explained in a small way to you my view of the world.  Yes I am full of opinions, some people would say that is not all I am full of……..

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The End of the World

  1. Pammy Oakley says:

    I am honored that I was the 1st blog you have ever answered. I have read y9ur answer many times and after dissecting what you wrote I have a deeper respect for what yesturday could of been about. My main question was not rather you believed in God or not, it was more if you believed it would happen. But then I guess we are back to it being God’s will. Iam not a church goer, this does not mean that I don’t believe in God, I do. I also was raised Episcopalion (sp).
    I was let down that you didn’t have any opinion on my wet noodle handshakes. But maybe it is still coming.
    Enjoy what is left of your w.e.

Leave a Reply

