Who’s in Charge

Who is really in Charge???

Over the past 2 weeks I have been in a conundrum.  I have been confused and quite frankly a little upset.  I went to the commencement at Dixie State College.  Several of my friends “walked” across the stage to receive their AA/AS/AAS degrees.  I will admit that i was quite envious.  I have been concentrating on getting my BS and basically ignored the general education requirements for the AS/AAS that I would like to get.  So being the enterprising person that I am I emailed my Guidance Counselor and asked her what it would take to get the AS/AAS that I desired.  Unfortunately, she was out of the office till the 17th.  I am not the most patient person in the world.  Quite the opposite, when I get a bee in my bonnet I want action.  In an effort to move this along I emailed her associate explaining my predicament, well my perceived predicament.  I didn’t get an email from him, so with my patience wearing thin I decided to look on-line for the information I needed.  Much to my surprise there was a plethora of information available to me.  I found an application that the college has that tells me what I have taken and what I need to take (at least the requirements) for the next degree level.  I found work sheets that I could print out to map out my scholastic career, I found descriptions of class’s that allowed me to decide if I even wanted to take that class (being honest, I did find a few that got crossed off the list).  More importantly I found something that I didn’t know that I had.  Control, that’s right, I had control over my own educational experience.  I spent the next few days looking over the information available and a few more making some decisions.

The Map

I now have a map of my scholastic journey.  I know what classes I need to take and when I am going to take them that will allow me to reach my goals.  I will have my AAS in the spring of 2012, it will be in Operations Management.  I will have my AS in the spring of 2013 and I will achieve my BS in integrated studies (with an emphasis in Operations Management and Visual Technologies) in the fall of 2015.  I know that sounds like a long time but I don’t want to overload myself like I did last semester when I took 9 credits. I was working full-time, it just seemed to be overwhelming I never had time for just me.  I have set my sites high also… I don’t just want to pass, I want to get the best score possible.  I want an A or A+ from all the classes that I take.  I know that seems to be over achieving, but if you are going to strive for something strive to be the best…

The Revelation

Now when my counselor got back I emailed her about my decision to get my different degrees and she said that I would have to change counselors and “lock in” my degree.  I didn’t understand that and so I ask some questions and found out that if I wanted to just stay with the degree program (and the counselor) that I am currently in, I could apply for the degrees as I qualify for them. I wondered why no one had told me that.  Then I realized something that was for me quite profound.  In college you are in charge of your own education.  You don’t have parents to tell you what to do, you are supposed to be an adult that can make decisions based on knowledge and life experience.  You gather the information and make intelligent decisions based on that information.
I emailed my counselor and told her this revelation, her response was YES !!! now go tell all the other students that seem to want me to feed them their education plans.

So here I am using my version of shouting from the rooftops.  I am hoping that some students will read this and have the same revelation that I did.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who’s in Charge

  1. renxkyoko says:

    Ah, I know that…. we’re supposed to be the master of our own destiny…. in my case though, I ” followed” my parents’ ” suggestion” and advices. It’s okay, because I know they only want the best for me, and they pay for my college tuition, too, and luckily, I like what I’m majoring in…. but I have a guidance counselor. At the end of the day though, my future is what I make of it in the present, mine and mine alone.

    • Lee Devine says:

      Renxkyoko,
      Thank you for replying. I do meet a lot of people that rely solely on what the counselor says though… It is like they can’t or won’t make their own decisions. Then I see someone like you that is in charge of her own destiny and I have hope for he next generation. Reading your blog is so Mega Worth it….

Leave a Reply

