It is frustrating

My Niece

I have a niece that is a wonderful person.  She has overcome some very challenging things in her short live.  Chrons disease, helping with an autistic brother, going to college… some normal things, some not so normal.  I have to admit that I am a little frustrated with her right now.  She went to a wonderful college in California, Loyola Marymount, graduated with high marks in business.  Struggled like most graduates during the recession to find a job.  Got a few internships, wrote some great marketing pieces for a company called GROH, from Total Nutraceutical Solutions, KPTV where she did some writing and editing, and Portland Monthly Magazine, again doing writing, fact checking and interviews.  I believe she developed a love for journalism because she decided to go back to college and get a masters in Journalism from Columbia University.  For all of you that don’t know Columbia is in NEW YORK…  Woo Hoo New York City, what a place to go.  The city that never sleeps, the big apple, the capital of the world, I would give my left… well you know to go there to live, let alone go to Columbia.  I am sure by now that you are all wondering why I would be frustrated with this outstanding and beautiful (she is) young lady??? Read on my friends…

Advice given

I will admit that I am one of those adults that freely give advice to young people whether they ask for it or not.  I see an opportunity or perhaps an issue and jump in with both feet handing out words of wisdom and sage advice.  When I found out that my niece (Teresa) was moving to New York, I said to her that she should start a blog on what it is like moving from the west coast to the east coast.   The cultural differences and the differences in life style.  How she felt about this and what changes she would have to make in her life as a struggling student going to Columbia.  Plus how she was living in New York, what it was like, how it was different from where she is now, etc.
I thought that this would be a good idea to start before she left because it would take a while to attract readership and better to start before she left instead of when she got there.  You know, build up some excitement about the trip, what she was feeling, excitement or trepidation, then when she got there she would have a built-in readership that would be interested in her day-to-day happenings.  I also thought that this would be a good project for her college experience. Up and coming journalist already has a blog – hire me for your show or paper.  I also thought that, as she is an interesting young woman that she may have the opportunity to open multiple blogs and make a mint off of the different ways that you can monetize a blog.

Old Fuddy Duddy

I know that I can be a stick in the mud old fuddy duddy.  I know that I sometimes can be like a child that isn’t getting his way and stomp and cry. This time I have been very patient, I have only mentioned it a couple of time, I have not pushed like a life coach would.  I have tried to be zen-like in my push to get her to do this.  Unfortunately that has not worked.
I really don’t know if she will read this.  I hope so…  Teresa if you read this, I know that you said you would start after you got there, but I feel that you are missing out on a golden opportunity to build excitement and readership.  The building up to the move, I think, would be something that people would want to hear about.   I know that it is putting yourself out there; however, isn’t that what people in your new profession do???

So dear readers tell me what you think??? Am I being too much like an ass and should leave her to her own devices???  Should I try to be more of a life coach for her and point out the possibilities available???  Remember I do not have children of my own so I have not experienced first hand how to deal with things like this.  Most of the people who I act as life coach for are face to face so that I can see their emotion and tailor my approach. Doing it long distance is a new experience for me…

One last question — Should I just mind my own business letting her make her own decisions?

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It is frustrating

  1. hvoltz says:

    I can only offer personal incite:
    The one thing I wanted to do when I was a teenager was publish a novel. When I became an adult I took my own journey towards that path which involved schooling, writing, passion, commitment, blood, sweat, tears and above all else, time. Not just the hours in a day but the time that it took for the powers that be to tell me that “right now is your time and not anybody else’s”. Twelve years later I decided to open a blog, to provide my writing to the world because NOW I am ready for it. Two weeks ago, I was not ready for it.
    Timing above all else provides a person their deepest desires.
    If your niece really wants to be a journalist then when the timing is right and it fits just perfectly into her life she will find ways to get her writing out and into the universe. Perhaps at that time, and only at that time, she will remember what her Uncle Lee told her and she will start a blog. But it has to be on her time and only hers.
    It’s not because she thinks you’re a ‘fuddy duddy’. It’s because there are other things in her life that are out weighing the desire to write a blog. Perhaps she is trying to get organized for a big move or maybe she would rather write about something else but hasn’t decided what she wants to write about just yet.
    Just remember, she is a young adult, a young seemingly successful adult. She has her whole life to start a blog about anything she desires. It never hurts to have a little nudge from her uncle but it’s ultimately her decision.
    Its okay that you think it would be fun for her to start a blog now because you’re right; it takes time to build a fan base. Just remember that everybody has their time to shine and when her time comes you will be so happy for her no matter how that time comes.
    I hope this helps to clear the muddy water, at least some.

  2. Dara Echols says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  3. Pammy Oakley says:

    Do you remember how stupid adults were when you were a kid or even a young man. I think I even remember you says in one of your blogs, that when your dad tried to talk you out of getting married, you just blew him off and did what you wanted. Sound familiar????? I have two young adult children. Until recently, I was the stupidest person in the world. They are now 27 and 24, and just in the last couple of years I became a very smart person to them. And I am their mom, who sees them frequently, not a long distance uncle.
    I am assuming she is probably a very busy person, getting ready for a major move, maybe even still working, saying good-bye to friends. (you didn’t say when she is moving). She needs a loving uncle who supports her, not an “old fuddy duddy”, who pushes his beliefs at her (maybe to strongly). I understand that you have been out there in the world, and probably do know what she should be doing, but, if you must push your beliefs on her do it suttley and make sure she knows you love her, no matter what she does.
    Most of all remember “she is a lovely young lady”. Important word here is young…………

    • Lee Devine says:

      Thank you for your comment… I do remember when I was young. I know that she is busy, I know that she has got other things on her mind. However that is one of the purposes of a life coach. To remind us that we have things that are important to do even when we think that they are not. I do agree with you. I also wish that when I was young that I had had someone say to me, “Hey Lee, you should really stick with that computer programming thing, it is going to be huge…..” and then bug me till I did… I think my life would be profoundly different had someone done that for me.

Leave a Reply

