English goes on and on

Another assignment done

I sit here tonight smug with the satisfaction that I have completed another assignment for my English 1010 class.  You need to understand that in high school 30 years ago, I was not the best in English.  I took the required classes and tried to skate as much as I possibly could.  I thrived on math and science. Over the years I have learned some things that allow me to excel in business writing, business correspondence, and an occasional long winded report.  Having the gift of gab I could tell a story better than I could right one.  For that reason alone this assignment means a lot to me.  I told a story.  One with detail and emotion.  I hope you all enjoy it.  Narrative essay due Monday 6-20

As always I welcome your critique and comments.  It helps me to become a better writer.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to English goes on and on

  1. renxkyoko says:

    Leedevine, that was one heck of a story ! ! And I mean that ! ! And I could feel you were a very sensitive fourteen year old boy. I’m almost misty – eyed. Thank you for sharing !!!!

  2. Elle says:

    I felt like I was there, Lee, great imagery! I got to experience something similar with my Grandfather and our horse way back when, but the feelings are universal, aren’t they? Nervousness, giddiness, you did an excellent job, you deserve an A in my book!

  3. Lee Devine says:

    I never actually fell off the horse.. thank god as I probably would have died. It was a harrowing experience though. Taught me a lot about life and country life.

  4. pammyoakley says:

    Very good. I can feel your excitement of moving to a new home. Being able to be with your dad, just him and you was an adventure in itself for you. Excitement over riding a horse and scared sh–less of getting back on after hitting the ground. As you have said many times, your dad was a very smart man to make you get back on.
    Hope for an “A” it deserves it.

Leave a Reply

