Fathers Day

Dear Dad,

I don’t get to call you today, not because I don’t want to but because you aren’t here to take the call.  I missed calling you last year to wish you a happy fathers day, I thought I would have many more to make it up to you.  I thought that one year wouldn’t make a big difference.  I was wrong.

As you look down upon us know that I am trying to take your last wishes to heart.  I am attempting to get the family together.  I am trying to live my life with joy.
I never realized just how much a part of my life you were.  I took your strength and love for granted.  Now that it is gone I know that I won’t take anyone else for granted that loves me and cares for me.

I know that I never gave you any grand children to spoil.  It is one of my greatest regrets.  My first wife, Sharon, and I didn’t stay together long enough to accomplish that.  My second wife, Lynn, never had the want to have children.  Her biological clock never rang.  Annette and I got together too late in life to have children.  It would not have been fair to them to have old parents.  Many people would disagree with that but that is their opinion and I have mine.

On this special day dad know that my love for you is still strong, I will never forget you or the things that you have taught me.  As I grow older, you grow smarter.  Be at peace father, your family continues on.

In loving memory of my father Ray Emerald Devine.

Lee Emerald Devine

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fathers Day

  1. Paul says:

    Nice one Lee
    What a sweet verse about Dad… I had one and I miss him so much, he is with me every day and all the advice he gave me I put to good use. Always special and always my Dad.

Leave a Reply

