Inspiration

An unlikely source

I was looking at my Facebook page today.  I noticed a post from a “friend” that mentioned she was having the urge to write.  She said it was due to my over enthusiasm for blogging.  She then asked if she should use pen and paper or blog.  To the first comment I responded that writing is good for writings sake, and that she was a really good writer.  To the second comment I expressed how writing with pen and paper is an exercise in self discovery which is personal.  Blogging is sharing with the world those same feelings. You have to be prepared to share and have feedback on that sharing.  I told her it is not what you don’t know, it is what you don’t know you don’t know.   I learned that during a class I took one time, it was the only thing from the whole three days that struck me as profound. There are a lot of things that I know I don’t know. I worry about the things that I don’t know that I don’t know.  Worry may be the wrong word, concern may be the right one.  I know that one day I will come into a critical situation and be face to face with something that I had no idea that I needed to know.

Pride

I pride myself on knowing a little bit of everything.  Over the years I have picked up little bits on knowledge, bits that allow me to be conversant on just about any subject.  I can quickly call up that knowledge, and with the advent of the internet I can get more detailed information quickly.  The issue that I have is what if I don’t know that I will have to know a little about something?  What if I have no idea how to find the information that I may need. It is a matter of pride.  Ego would be a better word here.  My ego would suffer if I had to admit that to someone.  I know that is childish but on the road to self discovery you have to be honest with yourself.

Solutions

Here is what I have decided here and now.  Don’t worry about it.  If I run into a situation that this becomes an issue then I will make the best that I know how.  Even this late in life you have insecurities and deal with them.

What about you? Do you have something that you have insecurity about? Something that sounds silly once you write it down, like this does now to me??

 

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Inspiration

  1. PM says:

    you know, i am a worrier. i worry about everything. but i try to let go. at least i know half of the problem and that is the fact that i go can go crazy when i lose control. i agree on the honesty bit. it is the only way to make progress. and trying not to worry is the best thing in this world!

  2. renxkyoko says:

    leedevine, you have been reading my blog…. and i think that by this time i’ve got some serious trust issues. and i just don’t know how to overcome these issues.

    • Lee Devine says:

      Trust is a very tricky thing… If you trust others you open yourself up to pain, hurt, and suffering. If you don’t trust others then you run the risk of being alone for the rest of your life, being cynical, and generally miserable. The issue I see is one of degree… How much should you trust people? It is different with each and every person that you meet. I tend to trust people a lot until they prove to me that they cant be trusted. Yes.. I get hurt sometimes. Yes, it hurts and I get mad and I lose friends. I would say that it is worth it though. Trust is like love — it is a wonderful feeling and one that you can’t experiance alone.
      I know that I have not told you anything that you probably don’t already know. Here is my advice to you… trust people a little at a time. Pick someone in your life and tell them that from now on you are going to trust them to do what ever… and see how it works out.
      I have learned through out my 53 years that “most” people are deserving of our trust. Don’t let the few spoil the rest….

  3. pammyoakley says:

    what to say to a grieving family. One of my co-workers, and my daughters very good friends, 4 yr. old daughter went into a diabetic coma on Friday. She is at the chidrens hospital and on life support. That is one of my biggest problems, except just being there for them, what do you say. I do not do grief well.

    • Lee Devine says:

      Grief is a very tricky subject. Sometimes it is best just to be there for the other person.. No words are required. Allow them to start any sort of conversation. Another humans presence is all that is needed during times of deep grief.

Leave a Reply

