Frustration

I know I should have a growth mindset that tells me that hard work and perseverance will prevail, but I am experiencing frustration with my home work.  I am taking philosophy 1120 this semester along with english 2010.  I thought that the philosophy class (social ethics) would be moderately hard, I was wrong, it is very hard.  I am finding it hard due to the reading. Why do the authors of philosophy use such strange and unknown vocabulary?
Such as EPISTEMIC –of or pertaining to knowledge or the conditions for acquiring it. I will be the first person to say that I, until now, have never heard of epistemic.  We also have the popular ETIOLOGY – any study of causes, causation, or causality, as in philosophy, biology, or physics.This one bothered me because in high school I loved physics and I never used the word etiology.  Of course there is ADDUCING – to bring forward in argument or as evidence; cite as pertinent or conclusive: to adduce reasons in support of a constitutional amendmentI will be the first to say sometimes I use big words not everyone knows. I pride myself on my rather large vocabulary. I would like to think though I explain myself enough so my large words make sense or at the very minimum are in context with the rest of the paragraph.

My wife and my sister, whom I have complained to, think that they do that to impress fellow philosophers. Which made me laugh, mainly because they may be right.

On a lighter note, now that I am done with philosophy I can focus on English.  This weeks assignment is on the way we write.  The different parts of the process.  As I love to analyze processes this should be fun for me.  For those of you who don’t know I am a lean practitioner, a person that removes waste from processes.  I will be interested to see it the way they describe the process includes any waste.

 

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Frustration

  1. i totally agree with your wife and sister, philosophers merely use such words to confuse people. Or maybe they’re way way smarter than the common people….i don’t know……

    Good luck though 🙂

  2. pammyoakley says:

    I am 1 up on you, I know what etiology means. Probably due to my work field.

  3. I’m 1 up on you. I knew what etiology means.

Leave a Reply

