Here I thought I was done

And the Saga continues

I have to say that I really thought that my arm would just magically get better.  I don’t know why I had this thought, but as with most things that you want to have magically done it never seems to work out. This last week I started physical therapy.  Now I am sure that somewhere in the world there is a physical therapist that is not a sadist.  Let me correct that, it seems to me that most physical therapists that I’ve ever dealt with seem to enjoy inflicting pain.  Oh, they say that they don’t hurt you but they keep moving the injured extremity no matter how much you grimace or whine. Jason, my physical therapist, is a nice sort of fellow.  I’m sure that in the big scheme of things he really doesn’t want to hurt me.  However, the fact remains that he does. If there were a silver lining to this story it would be that I have found a new way to ice a wound.  At the physical therapist’s office they have a gel sort of thing, that you can put in the freezer and is flexible yet cold.  It makes the old ice pack a thing of the past, a dinosaur if you will.

Exercise

I’ve also learned some new exercises.  One of them is holding a stick or PVC pipe with your elbows on the bed and rotate your shoulders up above your head.  It effectively rotate your shoulder muscle without too much pain.  The second one is very similar except your arms are extended and use the same sort of motion.  The third is little harder to do, laying on your stomach you arch your shoulders back and raise your hands off of the bed.  I can’t do many of those but I am trying very hard to increase the number each time I do them.

Lesson learned

The biggest lesson I’ve learned out of this whole experience is not to let the aches and pains of your body go unattended.  Had I gone to the Dr. earlier perhaps I could have gotten something done sooner that would’ve prevented my having to have surgery.  Listen to your body if you hurt for an extended period time please go to the Dr.

Don’t be embarrassed, don’t think that are just getting old, it might be something serious.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in Arm story, Doctor visits, My Life, Pain managemet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

