First Week Done

Great times

My week was a very busy one.  On Tuesday we started a new semester of Manufacturing U. One of the programs that I administer.  We meet Tuesday and Thursday from either 11:30 AM till 2:30 PM or from 3:00 PM till 6:00 PM. The class is the same both times it is so that people that work the late shift have an opportunity to come to class. We are doing the Leadership module this semester.  I think it is the best one.  You learn real world, hands on ways to take your leadership techniques to the next level.  You also find out what kind of leader you are.  When I took this class it really changed my life.  I thought I was a good leader and I was, but this class gave me tools to make me a great leader.  On Wednesday we started Industrial Facilities Maintenance Module 2, Mechanical Drive Systems. This class is for the Maintenance technicians of the world.  There aren’t a lot of training programs out there to teach people about maintenance.  If you look at some of the trends for business today that is one of the top unfilled positions in the job market today.  I think one of the reasons is training and the other is it is not a glamorous job.  You routinely get dirty and grimy and it is not always an easy job.  It can, however, be a well paying job.  This class only meets once a week but they also have a lab each week that I have to be available for.  On Monday, tomorrow, our newest class starts.  Lean Six Sigma, we are so lucky to have Steve Carwell and Vic Hockett as instructors for our program.  Both or which are certified Six Sigma Black Belts.  They will be passing on their knowledge to others in this class.  For those of you who don’t know what Lean Six Sigma is… Lean is a way of removing waste from a process.  Six Sigma is a way of removing variation from said process.  If I am building a 1000 widgets a day and 100 of them are bad then I have a problem… Lean Six Sigma gives me the tools I need to investigate why I am making 100 bad widgets a day and fix it.  I am a certified Green belt and will be taking the Black Belt class when we hold it.   Google Six Sigma if you want to know why they have Belts like Karate.  it is actually an amusing story, but too long of one for here.
So you can see that I will be extra busy this semester.  Each class I keep attendance on and then administer the LMS (learning management system) and do the labs and just generally make sure that the classes go right.  That is what I do for a living and I love it.

My College Classes

I am taking 6 credits again this semester.  3 for fine arts credit I need, I will be taking Theater 1013 which is introduction to theater.  I am hoping that this will be a relatively easy class for me.  I am also taking Economics 1010 which is Social Economics, again a class that should be relatively easy.  I have said that before though and they have turned out to be a bear.  When I am done with this semester I will be 3 credits shy of my AAS degree.  I thought about pushing myself and taking 9 credits so that I could get my degree sooner, but when I took 8 one semester I almost dropped out, it was too much.  So I will take a 3 credit course during the summer and get my degree then.  My Associates of Applied Science degree will be in Operations Management.  I will continue to work on my Bachelors Degree, it is in Integrated Studies with an emphasis in Operations Management and Visual Technologies.  My goal is to be involved with creating and managing learning management systems for business and higher education.  I know that it sounds strange for a person of my age to have different career goals than when I started but it doesn’t feel that strange. I always wanted to be a teacher, this is a way for me to fulfill that dream.

A talk with my sister

It is almost 8 AM here in Utah, and each week I Skype with my sister, who lives in Israel, for at least an hour.  We lost touch when I went through my crazy phase of early life, and several years ago I found her again. Since then we have spoken every week.  I treasure that time I have with her.  In a way she was my second mother, there was enough time between her and I that she was “grown up” to me.  I valued her guidance and love.  I lost that out of my life for a while, but am so happy to have found it again.

I hope that you all have a wonderful week.  I hope to blog more this week but if I don’t I will see you next weekend.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Week Done

  1. renxkyoko says:

    I’m glad that you love and enjoy what you’re doing now. That’s very important,,, to enjoy and love. Congratulations …. you’re about to fulfill your dreams !

    Here’s to you… Cheers, Lee Devine !

    By the way, are you Jewish ?

    • Lee Devine says:

      Thank you for the comment.
      I am not Jewish, but I have Jewish members of my family… My sister converted to the Jewish faith in the 70’s. I am a nondenominational believer. I believe in God, but I think that the major religions of the world have lost their way. That is a subject I will have to blog about sometime. During my Philosophy class I really had to examine how and what my relationship to god is, it was an eye opening experience.

Leave a Reply

