Why do people spam on my blog???

Why Me

I checked in with RenxKyoko this morning… If you haven’t read her blog you should, it is on my blog roll.  It is a relaxing read.  She got another Versatile Blogger award again, and she deserves it.
I decided to check in on my site and see what traffic I have had.  Not much 😦  Which I only have myself to blame for as I have not lived up to my blogging more this year commitment.  Plus the fact that my blog is not as coherent as other blogs are.  I tend to ramble about any old subject that strikes my fancy and not about one subject.
What did catch my eye though is that I had several things in my spam folder, as I do every time I come here.  This time it was from two Russian sites, I wish I could tell you what they were selling but I don’t speak or read Russian, and one from a PDF book site.  I will say that the two Russian sites at least tried to leave what would seem like a response to my blog, even though it had nothing to do with the subject at hand, but the PDF book site just left a link to their website.

What were they thinking ?

So that is my question.   Did they just think that I would approve the post and let them spam my blog?  Is it there are so many blogs that just let you comment with out getting the owners approval that they figure it is worth it?  I have visited a lot of blogs and it seems to me that the vast majority of them have some sort of approval for at least the first message.  Don’t get me wrong… I love getting comments on my blog… I even have a couple of subscribers, although my wife won’t subscribe which to me is kind of weird (another story I guess).  I love the thrill of having someone say something in response to what I have written, RenxKyoko is a brilliant responder, as I am sure all bloggers are but when I go to the unapproved comment folder and find that the two comments waiting are from some Russian travel site (there was a picture of a cruise ship on the page) as you can imagine it is a let down.  The one that was in the spam folder had the courtesy to at least not try to pose as a poster…. they just left the website address in the comment section. I don’t allow that on  my blog so I just deleted it.

ROBO comments…

I know that this is robo-commenting, people that are casting a net trying to find blogs that are open commenting.  Their cheap advertisement for these people.  I have to wonder though how many people actually click on links left in comments of blogs.  I know I don’t, I look at it this way, if the author wanted me to know about that website he would put it in his blog roll or mention it in a post, or maybe invite the person as a guest blogger for a article in which he could advertise his site.

So this is my rant for the day.  For those of you that blog out there do you have this problem??? For those of you that are just readers.  Would you click on a site in the comment section of a blog???  Let me know how you feel about this.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Why do people spam on my blog???

  1. Duncan Brewen says:

    Awesome writing style!

  2. Kathryn Mitchell says:

    I’m frequently searching for help and advice such as this.

  3. Valrie Wilkens says:

    When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

  4. Albertina says:

    Took me time to read all the comments, but I really enjoyed the article. It proved to be Very helpful to me and I am sure to all the commenters here! Its always nice when you can not only be informed, but also entertained! Im sure you had fun writing this article.

  5. Kym Riveras says:

    I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

    • Lee Devine says:

      I would have liked more detail about exactly what you liked. This generic comment could be used on any blog site and be appropriate. I hope you don’t mind that I disabled your URL prior to approving your comment.

  6. Pearlie Trivino says:

    Its very hard for me to read through this writing mainly because there are random images on the web page.

  7. dwarf red says:

    Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your web-site is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this web site. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched all over the place and just couldn’t come across. What a great website.

  8. renxkyoko says:

    Lee Devine, I already have thousand spams that I have disapproved. They are clearly spams. Some of them are in foreign language. Sometimes they write down a few comments that sound legit. They are quite persistent, too..

  9. Perrie says:

    Lee,
    It’s nothing personal. They do it to me all the time. Sometimes I think that it’s trolls with nothing better to do. But it is all over cyberspace. Ning uses an auto spam removal for most of the garbage that hit’s me, but every now and then, I get the mother load.

    I guess if you want to be on the play on the internet, there is always a jerk who doesn’t know how to play nice.

    • Lee Devine says:

      In the big scheme of things I know that others out there get the same or worse treatment than I do. I do know that it is not personal. I just wonder why they would waste their time and the time of others. A wise man once told me that if the criminals would spend half the time they do figuring out how to scam the system on something productive they would be millionaires.

Leave a Reply

