Musing on February 19th

A New Perspective

I have decided to change up my blog.  I am going to talk about what is important to me on the day that I blog instead of trying to make a blog about a certain theme.
I hope that you enjoy the new format.

Work Hours  

I am an avid reader of news about business.  I am noticing a disturbing trend in the work place since the beginning of the recession.  People are working longer hours for the same pay.  The issue that I see is that business is encouraging this to keep their labor costs low while lamenting that the economy is not getting better which is why they are not hiring new workers.  In my opinion it is a scam.  Business is all about maximizing profits.  If they can do that on the backs of workers, more the better.

School Updates

I love my school.  I consider it a privilege to be able to go back to school after all these years.  I will be graduating this May with my Associates of Applied Science degree in Operations Management.  I am particularly proud of the fact that I have done it all from scratch. When I was young I took a few classes, but unfortunately none of them would transfer.  Some of my classmates are graduating with me but they had credits from other schools that transferred in.  I am not saying I am better than them just that I had to work harder for my degree in the short term.  I will be continuing on for my Bachelors Degree.  I am going to major in Integrated Studies with an emphasis in Management Operations and Visual technologies.  My ultimate goal is to develop and improve on-line learning for businesses and schools.  When we talk about dream jobs I would love to be able to go back to Oregon and work for one of the Universities doing curriculum development.

My Life

Many things are going on in my life right now.  I would imagine that is normal for just about everyone.  I would like to think that my life is special and I am much more important than every one else. The cold hard truth is that I am just a normal person. I am however part of the world, a cell in the body human.  Things that I do will affect my community and my community will affect my state and so on and so on till in a small way I am affecting the whole world.  I would like to think that by being kind to others in some small way keeps the darkness at bay.
I would ask a favor of all those who read this blog.  Take a moment and send your positive thoughts out to my sister that lives in Israel.  She is a kind soul and needs all the positive thoughts that she can get.  She is going through a rough spot and needs to know that there are people out there that support her and love her… I know that I do.
I don’t talk enough about my life partner and wife, Annette, she is my rock and my strength.  I know that she is committed to ensuring that I am successful in life.  She lovingly nags at me to ensure that I get my homework done and do the things that are important to me.  If she didn’t care she wouldn’t say anything.  She is an avid internet surfer and information junkie.  If I want something found on the internet, I just suggest that she looks at if for me and I will get a 20 page report on that subject.  I love it.
I love my cat… I will have to take a picture of him and put it up here some time.  As I wrote that I thought – hey I have a picture of him.  Come to find out it is not on this computer. I will have to find it and get it up here.. he is so cute and loveable.  He is my owner, I live to serve him, at least in his mind.  He is an outside cat. The people we got him from had de-clawed him when he was just a kitten and then when they had their first boy they had to put him outside as the boy almost killed him several times.  He will come in when it is cold and stay for a little while, then he makes it plain that he wants to go out again.

Well that is about all I can think of today.  I will write again soon to update you on my life and the musings that I have.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Musing on February 19th

  1. renxkyoko says:

    Update, LeeDevine ?

  2. renxkyoko says:

    My prayers are with your sister, Lee Devine and I mean that. I’m so concerned with what’s going on in the Middle East. It’s scary. My thoughts are also with you. And congratulations on your graduation. Keep up the good work !!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

