Musing and more 4-8-12

I cannot believe I did this… I wrote this last weekend and did not publish it. and this will be my 100th blog… yea it is just as good today. So here it is world…

Over a month – that is bad

I could make some very lame excuses about work being terrible and classes being overwhelming and home life being hectic…  Unfortunately that would be a lie.  Work is a little hectic, we are coming to the end of a semester and starting a new one so that is a little true.  Classes on the other hand are quite easy this semester.  Home life – well lets talk about that.

Home life

About a month ago I started a new lifestyle change. You may recall from my New Year’s blog that I was starting a lifestyle change this year. Well I started the next phase of it. My weight has always been a problem for me, at least the last 20 years, and I finally decided that now was the time to do something about it. I had also had some gastrointestinal issues and my wife had seen a blog by the new food network star Artie the talked about her struggles with weight and gastrointestinal problems and how her solution was to eliminate gluten from her diet. I compared some of the symptoms that I was experiencing to the symptoms that Artie was having, and lo and behold they were one and the same. I made the decision to eliminate gluten and dairy from my diet. Now you would think that eliminating this would be a relatively easy process. Unfortunately you would be wrong, eliminating dairy wasn’t so much of a problem staying away from cheese, yogurt, ice cream, and various forms thereof wasn’t really all that difficult. The gluten however was surprisingly hard to quit. If you walk into the store you will find that there is gluten in about 99% of the things that are sold there. That is if you buy processed foods. So what to do? Several years ago prior to starting this blog my wife and I embarked on a thrice weekly vegetarian meal kick. We decided to revive the that particular tradition, and we thought that perhaps getting more education about a gluten-free diet would help.

The Book

We went to our local bookstore, originally to look for a gluten-free cookbook.My wife, by chance, turned around and saw a book called Wheat Belly by a Doctor Davis. As we were having a cup of coffee in the Starbucks located inside the bookstore. We picked up the book and I started reading it as I was having my coffee. It was as if a light-bulb went off in my head, here was a person telling me that eating genetically modified wheat like we have today is what is causing a lot of my health issues and my big belly that I carry around.I would personally recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn more about gluten-free eating. In the last month I have lost 14 pounds and 2 inches from my waistline. Not that it hasn’t been challenging, I am surrounded constantly by things like pizza, bagels, donuts, and sandwiches. They are all comfortable food, things that I used to take for granted. Now I have to really think about what I’m going to put in my mouth, how it is going to affect me, and whether I want to pay for that, both physically and mentally. About two weeks ago I joined Planet Fitness, a gym where you don’t have to worry about being judged whether your little fat or little out of shape or a lot of either. I go there for times a week Monday, Wednesday, Friday and a weekend day. Even though I know how to use most of the machines I decided that meeting with trainer would be a good idea. He could give me an idea of what to do to accelerate the weight loss program. He suggested that I do arms and upper body one day, abs the second day, and the legs the third day and then do a whole body 30 min. workout on the fourth day with 30 min. of cardio each day I go.I’ve been doing that for two weeks now, and I have to say that I feel fantastic. It has made a big difference on my energy level and just overall well-being.

My Family

The last time I blogged on February 9 I believe I talked about my sister who lives in Israel. She has been having some challenges in her life, but she is a strong woman, a fighter. Some good things is happening to her, one is that her daughter-in-law just had a baby boy. It isn’t her first grandchild but it is the first grandchild that she can actually hold. Living in Israel all of sons that were living with her there decided that moving to the United States was better than living in Israel. When they got back to the states they married and  had children unfortunately at the time she could not afford the plane fare back to the states to be with her sons when the children were born. This is the first grandchild that she got to hold a mere two hours after it was born. I’m pretty sure that was very special to her, actually I know it was, as we talked about this morning during our weekly Skype call. My sister is a dear sweet woman. A lot of the things that were going wrong last month have started to straighten themselves out.

I keep telling myself that I’m going to get better at doing this blog, but each and every time I do that it seems like a way to month in between. I’m going to take the summer off of school so maybe I will have a little more time for here. I’ve decided that since I am getting my Associates of Applied Science Degree in Operations Management on May 4 that I can afford to take one summer off. I have been going to school since January of 2009 it’s time for break.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Musing and more 4-8-12

  1. Pingback: leed43 (leed43) | Pearltrees

Leave a Reply

