What a Day

The first day of the rest of my life

I know that is the worst cliche there is.  Today though feels like that to me.  I woke up this morning feeling great. I had forgotten to turn off my alarm, it was 5 AM and I thought WOW – I feel fantastic.
As you all know I have been living the Gluten free life style the past two months.  I don’t eat anything that has wheat gluten in it.  Actually any form of gluten.  In that two months (after I got over the withdrawal symptoms) I feel mentally alert, energetic, and full of life again.
Before I went gluten free I thought I had IBS (irritable bowel syndrome) I will not go into details (gross) but suffice it to say it made my life miserable.  Now I have no symptoms… not one.  It is hard to explain how wonderful I feel everyday knowing that I won’t be “running” to the bathroom every 20 min.  (an exaggeration but that is how it felt)
Back to this morning.  I have a weird habit of rubbing my hands over my belly.  I know it sounds strange but when you are fat, that is what happens.  This morning I did that and all of a sudden I realized that it didn’t feel as big any more.  I was intrigued and thought “I wonder if my smaller pants will fit me”  Months ago my wife (whom I love so very much) went through my closet and moved all of my too small clothes to one side of my closet (that I never use) telling me that she was tired of having to go through them when putting away my clothes.  At the time I was rather depressed, here were some of my better clothes that I would “never” be able to wear again.  It was heartbreaking and spirit breaking.
I went into my closet opened the side that contained all of my “small” clothes, pulled out one of my skinny jeans (a 44) and pulled them on.  Prior to this I could not even get the button within 3 inches of the button hole.  Today I only had to breath in a very little bit to get them buttoned.  When I let out my breath, I was waiting for the button to go sailing, amazingly they didn’t feel that bad. I pranced around the house like a giddy school boy.  I am glad that my wife was asleep at the time, I think I would have been embarrassed.
I sat in my office chair and almost wept with joy. I honestly never thought I would be able to lose the weight that I had put on.
I started this journey at 274 Lbs.  After my wife woke up and I shared my story with her I got on the scale again and weighed in at 258 Lbs.

I will admit that I am quite fanatical about keeping wheat out of my diet.  It is very, very hard.  I read every label, looking for things like “modified food starch” which is a way of hiding fillers made of wheat and wheat by products in your food.  My wife and I had an interesting visit to Wal-Mart the other day.  It was after one of my long work days, we were hungry and didn’t want to cook for dinner.  We had to go to Wal-Mart for something for my work and while there decided that we would get some form of frozen dinner that would not be too bad for us.  We both insisted that it be gluten free though.  We walked down the entire frozen dinner isle pulling out things that we thought would not contain wheat, like tri-tip beef or fried rice and shrimp.  WRONG… every single thing we pulled out of the freezer had some form of wheat in it.  We ended up going to another store where we got sushi to go. (with gluten free soy sauce) It illustrates just how much wheat has crept into our food supply.  I feel for the people with Celiac disease or Crohns disease.  Trying to find food products that do not contain any gluten is very, very hard.

If you want to know more about the gluten free life style, read some success stories, and find some recipes.  Go to this website WheatBellyBlog.com

So excited for next Friday

The other thing that makes this a special day is it is just 6 days till my convocation ceremony.  For those that don’t know I am receiving my Associates of Applied Science in Operations Management next Friday.  I started going back to school in January of 2009 and this coming Friday I will achieve my first milestone.  It is hard to explain how gratifying this is to me.  When I started this journey I really didn’t understand what effect this would have on me. I didn’t understand the hard work and sacrifice that it would take to go this far.  I didn’t know how satisfying it would feel to know that you have reached a goal that had been postponed for over 35 years. Throughout this journey I have regained my love of learning.  I realized, when I was reviewing my journey, that I had lost that love of learning when I was trying to “make a living”.  I know now that learning is a process we should go through everyday of our lives.  We need to look for the things that we learn and acknowledge them.
Today I have learned that I am not only able to lose weight, but I am able to be in control of my appetite.  Today I learned that you are never too old to take control of you health.  I learned that the “experts” are not always right.

My family

I have spoken about my Sister that lives in Israel.  She is doing very well, I know that a lot of people worry that because she lives in the middle east that she is in danger of bombings and such.  Although I worried about that at one time, I have come to understand that not all places in Israel are prone to that type of thing.  She lives in a quiet small town away from the hub-bub of the big city.  It is quiet and peaceful and I pray that it stays that way.  She is still going though some health issues, but they are slowly working their way to fruition and resolution.  We talk every week on Sunday(for me) and I tell her that I love her every time.  You can never tell a sibling you love them too many times.
I wish I had that same type of relationship with my brothers.  I love them dearly and would like to be closer to them but for some reason they don’t seem to have the time to keep in touch with me.  I have tried to send them email messages to no avail.  I am hesitant to call them on the phone as I wouldn’t know what to say, I realize that I am a little angry with them and don’t want that to be the basis for our conversation.  I will keep trying to contact them through email and facebook.  Someday we will have the same wonderful relationship that my sister and I enjoy.
Brothers if you happen to read this I do love you and would love to hear from you.

Wrap-up

Well that is it for this week.  Got a little misty eyed there at the end but that is just me.  I am not your normal stoic unemotional man.  I like my feelings and I am not afraid to show it.  I hope that everyone has a wonderful day.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What a Day

  1. Pam says:

    The pizza looks interesting. My family gets together on the Oregon coast every summer. I of the things we do, is each cooks a unique meal. I think califlower pizza crust might make me the winner of unique. Good job on the wieght loss, that is another life goal that so far I am flunking.

Leave a Reply

