The Inauguration

Awe Struck

I just got done watching the inauguration. I am moved and inspired.  This was the very first time in all my years to be able to sit and actually watch the whole inauguration.
The message that I received from the speech was that we are all in this together.  We should try and set aside our differences and work for the good of the country.  That first and foremost we are all Americans.  We are one people, one nation moving into the future.  Together we will shape the future.  Together we will provide for the general welfare.  Together we will combat the troubles facing our generation.

Already the pundits are picking it apart word by word.  Analyzing every nuance, every turn of phrase. I am not listening to them.  I am taking my own message forward.  I am letting the words that the President spoke to resonate in my soul.  To me they were profound and amazing.

I think that this is one of the problems with modern media and ourselves.  Instead of thinking of what someones speech meant to us, we allow the pundits to analyze it and tell us what they said.  Instead of trusting ourselves to interpret the words spoken, we allow others to interpret them for us.   Listen to the words yourself, trust yourself to know and understand what is being said.  Listen with your heart, your soul, your being, and you will hear the message that is being put forth.

The other note worthy piece to note was the poet that spoke today.  His poem was beautiful and poignant.  One Light.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in blogging journey, My Life, my opinion, politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Inauguration

  1. renxkyoko says:

    YOU BET ! !

    I watched it too, the whole thing, including the parade, inaugural ball…… And then, what, I saw some snippets of the Republicans just dissing the speech so cruelly, like, Pres. Obama wants to change our Constitution to Soviet Constitution. What the heck .

    • Lee Devine says:

      I am rather disgusted with the republican party. I am not saying that they don’t have the right to think what they want to think, I am saying though that hypocrisy is not a very good look for them. They them selves have said the very same things that President Obama said on Monday, but because they are against everything that comes out of his mouth they are saying now that “Oh we didn’t mean it when we said it” We were mistaken… ARRRGGGG sometimes living in the reddest of red states is frustrating.

Leave a Reply

