Insturcturecon13

Here I Am

I don’t think I have posted this before but one of the many hats that I wear at work is Administrator of the Canvas Learning Management System.  It is produced by a company called Instructure. Every year since 2011 they have had a convention at Park City, Utah.  I went last year and I got to go again this year.  I am currently sitting on break between information sessions, waiting for the next one to begin. The name of my next session is “Mistakes only Experienced Instructional Designers make”  It is a session that is supposed to remove the fear of making mistakes and just get out there and design.  The sessions I attended today were fantastic.  I am really looking forward to the rest of the convention.  The funny thing is that most of us here are in some way or another what would normally called a geek.  We all embrace our geekiness, revel in our unique outlook on life and this is one of the only times that we get to be together.
We network and have fun.  Tonight is a carnival.  I wish I could participate in the pie eating contest but I am gluten free and that would ruin my health for about 3 days if I did it.  Oh well.  I will be posting pictures soon.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life, My Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Insturcturecon13

  1. renxkyoko says:

    Lee Devine, it’s now fun to be a geek, ha ha ha ! Cheers !

    • Lee Devine says:

      So True… I have embraced my geekness. Back in the beginning of time when I went to high school it was very “uncool” to be a geek. We provided a great service to those around us… passing classes they would never have had a chance in, etc, etc, etc. Now it is ok to be a geek, even desirable. Oh well times change.

Leave a Reply

