InstructureCon 2014

What is it?

As I mentioned in last years post on InstructurCon 2013.  I am the administrator for our campus’s LMS (Learning Management System) – Canvas. It is produced by a company called Instucture located in beautiful Salt Lake City in Utah. I adore the program for a number of reasons but first and foremost I like the idea behind the program. Make it easy for the student to use.

The Theme

The theme this year is “Calling all Hero’s”.  Educators can and should be hero’s.  They spend a lot of time and energy making curriculum current and interesting.

The format of the Conference

There were three of our staff that went to the conference this year.  Becki Clements, our incoming Canvas Administrator – Brendan Dalley, our Student Services Director and Me, the outgoing Canvas Administrator. Yes I am giving up the hat of Canvas Administrator, after several years doing it the Campus decided that they needed a more full time Administrator. Even though that is a very desirable job to me I am needed more in my current department.  Becki has been my Assistant Admin for about 2 years now and I have tried to teach her all I know.  She will be a great administrator. Back to the subject. So we get to Park City, Utah at the canyons resort Monday evening. I had thought my reservation was at the Grand Summit hotel when in actuality it was at the SunDial, not as good and through me for a loop for a minute but it was still a nice room and all.  Went to dinner at a great Chinese restaurant (see pictures of dinner). Tuesday: There were several pre-conference workshops that we went to.  One on the use of API (application program interface), another on the help desk system, and they were just fun to go to.  About noon it started raining and by the opening Keynote at 5:30 PM everything was soaked.  Normally the Keynote is outside but this year they had to move it inside. Dinner and a movie closed out the night Wednesday: Morning still snow on the ground but it warmed out considerably and quickly which made the whole place a soupy mess.  Breakfast was great with quiche and bacon, sausage, and fruit.  I couldn’t eat the quiche as I am gluten free but it smelled great. Off to the morning Keynote, a person talking about DIY Girls and what kinds of progress they have made getting girls interested in STEM. The rest of the day was filled with half hour break out sessions.  Food and fun was interspersed with the afternoon product session featuring a look at the Magic Marker app that makes grading outcomes easier. More breakouts, food and more fun wrapped up the evening. Thursday: More of the same. I am not trying to be trite but that is really what it was.  Until, that is, the evening festivities.  We had an 80’s party.  Yes I have pictures.  Remembering that it was “calling all hero’s” there were plenty of people in costume for the event.  Lots of fun.  Oh and the Gondola ride which you will see in the video I shot.

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life, My Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

