IT’S BEEN A WHILE

Since July

I have not been blogging since July when I wrote about Second Life.  Although that was a great article and I really enjoyed it I am not playing as much as I was.  Why you might ask? The simple answer is there have been so many changes, I hardly recognize the culture any longer. I used to be able to go to a place and monitor the conversation in “local” chat, now everyone seems to use private messaging to talk.  For me that takes some of the fun out of it. The other big thing is the population has dropped dramatically. When I first joined the amount of people on line would number in the hundred thousand range, now you are lucky if it hits fifty thousand, more like thirty thousand most of the time.  I know that sounds like a lot but when you consider that the majority of the people are in small groups that are in a private area it actually makes the chance of meeting someone randomly small.
Another reason is, it seems that the online market place is geared toward women.  I know saying that seems lame but 9 out of 10 stores cater exclusively to women.  The first thing that happens when I say this is “More women like to shop than men” and I understand that. However after a while it gets a little boring.
I have kept my account only because I will check in every once in a while, and because I actually spent real money on some of the things that I have.  It would feel like throwing something away that is still useful.  You never know, the popularity of having an online second life might become popular again.

I could go on and on about work and other things but I think I will save that for another post.

Have a wonderful day and thank you for stopping by

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in blogging journey, My Life, my opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IT’S BEEN A WHILE

  1. renxkyoko says:

    hello, Lee Devine ! !

Leave a Reply

