Hatred of Muslims – Beginning of Genocide

Fear of the OTHER

Let me start this conversation by saying that I am appalled what the terrorists did in Paris. I am shocked and angry that this happened. HOWEVER

I am equally shocked and angry at some of the responses to this tragedy.  I was reading an article on Flipboard (a news app for various devices) and in this article a person in Texas said that ” They are living on a different wavelength that we do not understand. And they just have to be wiped out

What? Really? Wiped out… Gone… non-existent. Very similar to what the white settlers did to the Native Americans, or what the Spanish did to the Inca, or what the Germans did to the Jews.

Are we so incompetent that violence is the only way in which we can defeat ISIL? Just to be clear, where are they getting their money from. There must be banks that are allowing them to do transactions for selling oil. Why are we not decrying the banks to stop doing business with ISIL? Shut off the MONEY and you shut down ISIL. Why is Turkey buying Oil from ISIL? Why are we not undercutting ISIL’s oil price to make it harder for them to unload this oil?  Oh yes…  PROFITS.  Where did they get the weapons in the first place? America left behind literally thousands of pieces of equipment when we pulled out of Iraq. We funded and funneled the Free Syria Freedom fighters – a precursor to ISIL. The majority of ISIL comes from the FSFF that the American Military trained, that’s right we trained the Enemy that we are now complaining about

“Us and Them”

We all know that strife and war are profitable. The military industrial complex thrives on having a ready made enemy to use when the world gets a little peaceful.
Look there, they are the other, they are scary, they are the ones that will come for you in the dark. We must go to war to eliminate “them” to protect “us”

Perspective

I would ask you to look at some perspective.  Yes 7 or 8 Muslims from ISIL killed approximately 130 Parisians. It was tragic.  I am sure they had help so lets say a 3 to 1 ratio helpers to henchmen so you would have about 32 total people carrying out this atrocity. Now, estimates are that there are 1.6 Billion Muslims in the world today – as a percentage that is .000002%. I am not saying that there are not radical Muslims in the world.  There are, but there are also radical Christians that bomb abortion clinics, go into black churches and kill people, go into theaters and kill people.  We don’t denounce Christianity when this happens.  I would remind us that Timothy McVeigh killed 168 people and injured 600 more, many of them women and children because of how the government handled a religious group in Waco, Texas. We didn’t round up all of the gulf war veterans and wipe them out because of the actions of one man.

Fall Out

I know that I am going to get grief about this. Publicly and Privately. My sister and her family is Jewish. My friends and family are Christian. I am not trying to excuse or make light of the tragedy that happened in Paris.  I am not saying that there are not bad Muslims in the world. I am not saying that we should just sit back and wait to be slaughtered.
I am saying that there are non-violent ways to deal with part of the problem. I am saying that we should not “wipe out” an entire segment of the population over the actions of a relatively small percentage of that population.

We have too many Genocides in our past, lets not add one more to the list.

 

About Lee Devine

I love life. I am a program facilitator at the Dixie Applied Technology College in St. George Utah. I can't think of anything I want to do more than help people succeed at education.
This entry was posted in My Life, politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

